Figma News Fridays: 1/8/16 Massive Catch up

*crawls out of hole* I’m back!
I was doing pretty good at posting more often…until I went MIA for a few weeks *sigh*
But I had a great time in Savannah again! I’ve never been out of town for Christmas, so that was tons of fun! Then I worked my rear off for New Years to prepare for the next semester and all of the expensive figures I preordered for 2016(oh why?!). I also made lots of cosplay progress on props specifically, and by that I mean that I now have two Levin Swords. I usually share cosplay prop progress on FNF even though nobody asks for it, so why not start with that?


Untitled

On the left is the first cardboard sword I made which I shared a few FNFs back. It was fine, but I wasn’t completely satisfied. My cosplay buddies gave me a reason to improve this particular costume and I decided to give it my all instead of trying to complete as many cosplays as possible, so I started on a second sword which is on the right. Sword #2 is made of foam! Untitled
Here are closeups of both

Untitled The second sword is definitely what I’m taking to the con, but I’ll keep the first one around as a prop.

I also made some boot covers Untitled
Untitled
They make my legs look really bulky though, so I don’t know if I’ll end up wearing them. *sniff* I made these covers while watching hours of The Twilight Zone, so that’s all they remind me of now.

My cosplay is essentially finished aside from some nitpicky details, so I should probably move on to the next one. I took some pictures too, so I guess I should share those here too *heavy breathing*

But cosplay progress is not all that happened. There was also figma news! We’re looking at three or four weeks of catching up with this post, so I may miss a few smaller things in favor of big stuff because we had several interesting reveals and preorders. I’ll also be skipping the day of the week format for this post because that would take a lot of extra time, so let’s get started!

The Thinker: Plaster ver. Release Date Announced
plaster thinker preview page Church bells ring and crowds cheer. An old woman faints from excitement. Finally news on the Thinker figma–and the plaster version nonetheless. The people have what they want.

He is scheduled for a January 12th release!

Mio Honda Release Date Announced

mio honda preview page
January 18th!

Venus de Milo Release Date Announced
venus de milo preview page
Also January 18th!

Kazuma Kiryu Preorders Begin
kazuma kiryu preorder page From ‘Yakuza’, the popular action adventure game celebrating its 10th anniversary, comes a figma of the legendary ‘dragon’, Kazuma Kiryu! Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes. A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability. Three expressions including his standard cool and composed face, a shouting face for combat as well as his rare smiling expression. Optional parts include a ‘Staminan Spark’, a cigarette and a golden gun. An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken. Kazuma retails for 5370 yen and is scheduled for a June release. Preorders of figma Kazuma Kiryu from the GOODSMILE ONLINE SHOP will include a Traffic Cone part as a bonus! kazuma kiryu preorder bonus
This product is available for preorder at the GOODSMILE ONLINE SHOP.
Preorders will be open from 24th December 2015 (Thu) from 12:00JST until 10th February 2016 (Wed) at 21:00JST.

I-I don’t have much to say other than what a cool gold gun!
What do people who know more about him think?

Miya Sakamoto Preorders Begin

miya sakamoto preorder page
From ‘Strike Witches the Movie’ comes a figma of the Fuso Imperial Navy’s Commander Mio Sakamoto!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
The Shiden Model 53 striker unit, type 99-2 Model 2 Kai cannon and Reppumaru sword are all included.
Ears and tail parts are included for posing her using her powers
Both spinning and stationery propellers are included for the striker unit.
She comes with three expressions including a composed expression, a shouting expression for combat and an expression revealing her inherent ‘Magic Eye’ ability.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Mio retails for 7000 yen and is scheduled for a May release

Preorders of figma Mio Sakamoto from the GOODSMILE ONLINE SHOP will include a Laughing Expression part as a bonus!
mio preorder bonus
This product is available for preorder at the GOODSMILE ONLINE SHOP.
Preorders will be open from 22nd December 2015 (Tue) from 12:00JST until 20th January 2016 (Wed) at 21:00JST.

Urgh I hate seeing genuinely good faces being included as bonuses–especially with an expensive figma like this one where after shipping, you’ll be paying almost 10,000 yen. But such is the life of a collector.

Link: A Link Between Worlds ver. Preorders Begin
link between  worlds preorder page wall link
From the popular game ‘The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds’ comes a figma of Link!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
He comes with both a confident smiling expression as well as a more serious glaring expression.
His Master Sword and Hylian Shield are both included as optional parts.
A sheet featuring the illustration of the wall merged Link is also included.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Link retails for 4630 yen and is scheduled for an August release.

Link: A Link Between Worlds ver. – DX Edition Preorders Begin
link between  worlds preorder page wall link

link 1

link 2

link 3

link 4

From the popular game ‘The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds’ comes a special deluxe version of figma Link: A Link Between Worlds ver.!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
He comes with both a confident smiling expression as well as a more serious glaring expression.
His Master Sword and Hylian Shield are both included as optional parts.
A sheet featuring the illustration of the wall merged Link is also included.
The deluxe edition includes a Tornado Rod, Hookshot, Bomb and Baby Maiamai.
Two popular items from the Legend of Zelda series are also included – a Rupee and a Pot.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Link retails for 5556 yen and is scheduled for an August release.

What we have here is two versions of the same figma. The first version is standard release while the deluxe is limited. Exactly how the deluxe is limited outside of Japan is a bit confusing to me, so I will paste this description from MFC:

The DX version will be limited in Japan to the Good Smile Online Shop.
It will be regularly available international via retailers, Goodsmile Partner Shops, and the English Good Smile Online Shop.

The deluxe Link does not appear to be too difficult to get internationally, but what has upset a lot of people is the tremendous discrepancy in accessories between the two versions. The standard version is as bare bone as possible, and I think it’s almost insulting to fans that a version of the figure lacking such important, iconic, and fun accessories would even be released–especially since the obviously superior edition is limited to GSC’s shop. I will be passing on this figure because I still only play three games, but I hope that this does not become regular practice.

Aside from the controversy, this figure does look great! I always love seeing stylized figmas, and the spinning accessory creates a neat blend of 2D and 3D.

Racing Miku 2016 Design Revealed and Preorders Begin

racing miku 2016 2

racing miku 2016
Another year and another Racing Miku! This year’s theme was flames, and its yielded a very colorful result. Even with the color palette being more rainbow, the shapes in her costume and hair mimic flames which I find cool! In the end, I’m just happy to see Racing Miku stray from the “space princess” theme that was going on for a few years. Sponsorship packages for the figma can already be reserved, and range from 8000 yen for just the figma and proof of membership to 70000 yen for the figma and much more Racing Miku merch. You can view the details of each package here. Orders usually close around September 11th(my birthday ha), so we have plenty of time to see the figma completed before making the decision to order!

That wraps up this catch up post! I still haven’t wrapped up my 2015 ending posts, so to finish my belated salute to 2015, I will be posting the rest of the pictures I took this year grouped into scaled figures, nendoroids, and dolls before finally finally finishing with my yearly photo summary! I also need to answer messages. I feel so behind getting into 2016, but I’m ready!

What do you think of this figma news?

Leave a comment

