Figma News Fridays: 10/29/15

Welcome to Figma News Fridays! I hope your Halloween was sufficiently spoopy. I went to a ten hour Halloween party, so mine was pretty great.

This week had release date announcements, a freshly painted figure, and a preorder, so let’s get started!

 

Saturday

Limited Gorou Inogashira Announced
gorou saturday
The world cried out for more Gorou, and those cries were answered.
This Gorou is apparently part of a limited raffle with the ramen being a special accessory. That is all I know at the moment, but he’ll probably be extremely hard to get. It’s a shame there aren’t any other Gorou figmas…OH WAIT.

Monday

Uzuki Shimamura and Rin Shibuya Release Dates Announced
rin and uzuki
Both girls(sold separately) are scheduled to release November 24th.

Tuesday

Yukikaze Released
yukikaze preorder page

figma Vehicles: Panzer IV Ausf. D “Finals” & figma Vehicles: Panzer IV Ausf. D Tank Equipment Set Released
panzer preview page
Both the preassembled and kit versions!

Yami Yuugi Painted
yami wednesday
Finally painted and looking a-ma-zing~
Yami is another character from many people’s childhood being given a quality figure as of late. The sculpt down to his stylistic weird proportions looks spot on as do the colors–especially in his hair. Yami’s release is currently listed as April 2016 which means we should expect orders soon.
I like seeing Yami, but Yu-gi-oh was not my jam as a child, so I will most likely be passing. Still, I wonder what we can expect for the rest of his accessories!

Thursday

Davide di Michelangelo Preorders Begin
david preorder page

The Table Museum’ is a series of figma figures based on famous works of art that almost anyone would recognize! The fourth artwork to join the series is the masterpiece sculpture of David by Michelangelo, now known around the world as one of the best examples of Renaissance art. The beautiful yet powerful appearance of his sculpt still captures the hearts of people to this day.

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out the classic David pose and various other action poses.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
The proportions of his head have been carefully preserved, and his eyes can be moved to change the direction he is looking.
A special base and arm parts are included for the classic pose, but various other hand parts are also included.
A sling part as well as hands to use it are also included, allowing you to pose him ready to take a shot
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
David retails for 4444 yen and is scheduled for a May 2016 release.

It was only a matter of time before we got a Table Museum figure of Michelangelo’s David since it is one of the most recognizable statues. I’ll be passing, but customizers could have a lot of fun with this one.

 

That wraps up this week! According to commercials, Christmas is soon, so we have that to look forward to.

8 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays: 10/29/15

  1. I used to love Yu-Gi-Oh. In fact, I used to compete in regional tournaments for it. So that figure is definitely a buy for me! I used to always want a good “action figure” of Yami/Yugi when I was a kid and remember the huge disappointment I felt when there wasn’t one. So this figure is like a childhood dream of mine even though I’m not really into Yugioh now lol. The only action figure I wanted more as a kid was a good quality Sesshomaru from InuYasha. I don’t see that ever happening, but I’d cry like a child if Max Factory decided to do a Figma Sesshomaru. His character design is still to this day one of my favourites in any anime. Since they have plans to do Saitama from One Punch Man, I’m looking forward to seeing a Genos figma. Genos is another one of my favourite character designs. Dem sexy eyes (no homo).

    Like

    • I felt the same about figures and toys of human characters when I was a kid. I only had toys of non human characters for years, so being able to have nice figures of people is a dream come true!

      Oh yeah! I forgot about the One Punch Man figma! I need to watch the show still, but I’m looking forward to seeing it more now than when it was announced.

      Like

      • One Punch Man can be summarized in 1 word…epic. It is gaining immense popularity like Attack on Titan though, which is somewhat frustrating to me (due to my childish thoughts of annoyance when non-anime fans who have only seen 2-3 anime series brag about how attack on titan or sword art or one punch man are the greatest anime of all time without the experience to even say such); however, I will give it credit as having byfar the best action animation I have ever seen in an anime to date. This is saying a lot as I’m a fanboy of Type-Moon animation stuff such as Fate series and Kara no Kyokai (which I would say KnK had the best animation I had seen before now). I’d highly recommend checking it out soon. They are going to end the anime off in 11 episodes and then slowly release 6 OVA’s from the looks of it. I find this to be a shame because it would have been the best long-running anime in my opinion alongside Hxh 2011 if they had decided to make it long running. They unfortunetly started the anime too early into the manga and wouldn’t be able to keep it clean or without fillers, so I don’t entirely mind their decision to switch it up a bit and end it the way they are.

        Like

        • I am now on the One Punch train 😄 Binged it in a night ah~
          I know what you mean. Once somebody told me they didn’t watch mainstream stuff, and then gave SAO and AOT as examples of non-mainstream. I was like uh…
          So am I going to need to switch to the manga when the show ends? 😄

          Like

          • Haha! That is awesome. I was actually made a typo in my post when I said 11 episodes…totally meant 12! That’s awesome you watched it. It is an amazing combo of comedy + action. I’d recommend reading the manga after the anime ends ya. I just wish they’d release it faster. The anime fit soo much of the manga in just 12 episodes. Also, have you ever seen Hunter X Hunter 2011?

            Like

Leave a comment

