Figma News Fridays: 10/2/15

Welcome to Figma News Fridays! I’m even writing it on a Friday! What kind of world is this?! We have a good variety of things this week, so let’s get started!

Friday

Yu Narukami Released
yu narukami preorder page

Monday

FigFIX Amatsukaze Released
figFIX amatsukaze preview page

Rin Tohsaka 2.0 Released
rin 2.0 preview page

Tuesday

Hulk Preorders Begin
hulk preview page
From the popular film ‘The Avengers’ comes a figma of scientist Robert Bruce Banner’s transformed form – the green-skinned super strong giant, Hulk!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
He has a powerful expression with clenched teeth. The direction his eyes are looking can easily be changed to suit any pose.
Details such as the enlarged veins all over his body and wrinkles on his fingers and toes have been intricately sculpted.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
The Hulk retails for 11,111 yen and is scheduled for a May 2016 release.

Ah, May 2016. With figures, you can sell your soul before the next year has even started. I’m already sold up to May! *muffled weeping*

Figma Hulk has been in figma purgatory for a long time. He was first announced three years ago, and has since stood stagnant as the other Avengers and countless Iron Man figmas were released.
I like being positive, so let’s start with the good. The sculpt is awesome! His hair has texture without feeling contrived(see Kiritsugu Emiya’s weird spikes), and all of the details on his gigantic body have been captured. The veins, giant muscles, and green shading all help the body to feel very real. His face is also one of the better “realistic” figma faces.
Now for the bad. The poses look good, but I worry about articulation. The average figma arm is far smaller–so much that the joint is often thicker than the arm and pokes out at the elbow. This allows the figure to bend its elbow enough to do things like touch its face or scratch its head. Hulk’s enormous arms would require a very noticeable divot at the elbow to achieve the same thing, so it looks like his arms cannot achieve anything beyond a 90 degree angle. He also has no torso articulation, and I wonder about his head too with that giant chin. Then there are the accessories, and by that I mean he has none. Not even a second face or articulated eyes. Just no accessories. There are plenty of options for a character who smashes things, so I’m sure the reason for this was keeping costs down for this monster of a figure. The final point is price which is an astounding 11,111 yen. Shop discounts bring the price down, but this is still a very expensive action figure. Sadly, I anticipate Hulk smashing the bargain bin next year for these reasons. Regardless, I look forward to what people do with him. He’ll look amazing next to normal sized figmas.

Horses Released
horse white and chestnut
White and Chestnut versions officially released! My group order friend, however, informed me that ours shipped last week. Neigh neigh neigh neigh.

Friday

Angela Balzac Preorders Begin
angela balzac preorder page
From the original anime film ‘Expelled from Paradise’ comes a figma of the main character, Angela Balzac!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
She comes with three expressions: a confident expression, a gentle smile as well as a tired out expression.
Optional parts include the gun she used in the film, as well as the block version of herself.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Angela retails for 6296 yen and is scheduled for a May 2016 release.

angela balzac preorder bonus
Goodsmile shop preorders include a bonus expression!

I have not seen “Expelled from Paradise”, but Angela’s design is very appealing in a sci-fi body suit way. She makes a great figma too with a beautiful hair sculpt and lovely neon green. I think my favorite thing about her is her eyes. Sadly her accessories are rather limited–especially for the price(the Frontier Setter figure is sold separately). Even worse is that for whatever reason, Angela and her awesome bonus expression are not for sale on the Goodsmile international shop which puts a lot of people in a pickle. Were I still buying figmas just for looks, I would pick up Angela, but I’ll have to pass.

PLAMAX RT-01 Frontier Setter
frontier preorder page//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
From the original anime film ‘Expelled from Paradise’ comes a plastic model kit of Frontier Setter as a part of the PLAMAX series! The model is 1/12th scale, which is the perfect size to display together with figmas!

This is a snap-kit model that can be put together without glue.
Jointed areas make use of polycaps allowing for the built product to be moved around.
Two different right hand parts are included.
Tetron stickers are included to add coloring to certain areas of the model.
A bonus alternate red head part is also included.
Frontier Setter retails for 3982 yen and is scheduled for a May 2016 release.

The kit seems easy to assemble, and it is prepainted(stickers included), but is almost 4000 yen a little much?

That wraps up this week! What do you think of the sorry state of accessories with Hulk and Angela? Are there any horses in your future?

8 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays: 10/2/15

  1. I honestly think the facial job on the Hulk is amazing. I really hope they do a good job with Izaya and Shizuo from Durarara!!. Anyways, my Yu Narukami came in on Tuesday. The figma is definitely nice looking. Unfortunately, I believe I got spoiled with Lucina (one of the best quality figures of all time) recently and that pushed my hopes for Yu Narukami. I’d give it a 7/10. It looks beautiful no doubt, but the shirt somewhat hinders the arm joints (not a big issue). My only downside with the figure is the closeups pictures showed off his unique eyes on the figure; however, in person the hair comes too close to the eyes and the eyes aren’t as big as I would have liked them to be. I guess I just have an anime eye-fetish and he doesn’t have those giant anime eyes I love. None the less, another nice figma.

    Like

    • I agree! Hulk looks great considering how other realistically styled figmas came out.

      Ahhh I’m still waiting on my Lucina >_<
      *looks up user photos of Narukami* oof you're right about his bangs. That's a shame :/

      Like

      • Ya. Of all the hulk figures to come out, I’d say the face and body suit the actual Hulk we see in the avengers movie the best. Never seen one that good. The SH Figuarts Hulk’s body is cooler looking but a lot less accurate to the movies. Oh…why so long a wait for Lucina o__O? I always get EMS shipping and get my figures to my location (Canada) from Japan within 2-4 days after the release. You’ll definitely love the figure! oh man…the colour, detail, and pose-ability are top notch. I don’t even play Fire Emblem or SSB (maybe I should) and the figure is in my top 3 figma (and I own a LOT/most figma -.-“). My favourite eye’s on any figma are still from the Insane Black Rock Shooter figma. One of the eye expressions looks soooo badass T_T but it cost me an arm and a leg at the time. Sorry for always typing so much, I don’t ever get to talk to anyone about my figma’s or figures in general!

        Like

        • I had some other items hold up Lucina’s order, and she’s coming RSAL. She’s probably here now. I need to have my dad pick her up from his box when he gets back in town ^^’

          I played SSB for like 30 minutes and decided to get Awakening. Now I’m trapped in it’s clutches and I play SSB regularly *tear*.

          I still haven’t gotten Insane BRS. She’s on my list, but I’ve had to slow down lately. I went a little crazy this summer, so here’s to recovering.

          Haha no problem. I go crazy when I get to talk to my few figure friends in person.

          Like

  2. Yeah, Hulk is…He was obviously rushed out to give Bandai some competition, but at that ridiculous pricepoint with so few things going for it…not looking good. Not looking good. I think his eyes are articulated, though, at least.

    Angela looks awesome. Great sculpt, great colors, and the accessories are awesome–especially the digital version of herself. I love her tired face as well. She looks good but is just…really too expensive. And I didn’t think the movie was amazing or anything. I may still get her but…expensive.

    Like

Leave a comment

