Figma News Fridays 2/6/15

Figma News Fridays! This is it! The weekend of Wonderfestival!
Weeks before and a little after Wonderfestival tend to be slow, and we definitely have that here, but it is merely the calm before the storm. There’s only a little to look at today, so let’s get started!

Monday

Racing Miku 2014: EV MIRAI ver. Preorders Begin
2014 racing miku ev mirai preview page

Racing Miku 2014: EV MIRAI ver. is going to be challenging the Pikes Peak Hillclimb with the electric motorbike ‘TT Zero 13 Kai’, and is now being transformed into a figma too!

The Hatsune Miku GT project official character ‘Racing Miku’ joined forces with the electric bike manufacturer ‘TEAM MIRAI’ to become the ‘EV MIRAI ver.’. The 2014 version features a bike suit!
She comes with two expressions including a slightly surprised looking expression as well as a smiling expression.
A helmet and shift:body to display her riding on a motorbike are both included.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
An articulated figma stand is included.
Miku retails for 5370 yen and is scheduled for release in July.

racing miku 2014 ev mirai bonus
Preorders of figma Racing Miku 2014: EV MIRAI ver. from the GOOD SMILE ONLINE SHOP will include Smiling Expression (Looking Left) as a bonus!
This product will be available at the GOOD SMILE ONLINE SHOP. Orders can be placed between the 3rd February 2015 (Tues) from 12:00JST and the 4th March 2015 (Wed) at 21:00JST. Please see the GOOD SMILE ONLINE SHOP page for more information regarding shipping and shipping costs.

So I was writing this amazingly deep opinion piece on Miku, but I looked down and suddenly everything I wrote was gone…so have an abridged version of that.

My 2013 EV Mirai Miku came in just this week, and since I love having figures of Miku not in her default outfit, I like this one a lot! She is light on accessories and a high price in spite of that, but that has become normal for figmas now days.

I’ve suspected for a long time that GSC would rope me in with one of their shop bonuses, and when I heard that this Miku had one, I thought that time had finally come. However I was surprised to see nothing tantalizing about Miku’s bonus face. Sure I love sideways glances, but this one is just so similar to her already included smiling face that I am not the least bit tempted. So yay?

Anyway, preordered!

Ex:ride Spride.06 TT-Zero 13: Kai Preorders Begin
Racing Miku EV Mirai bike 2014 preview page

The motorbike which completed the 2013 Isle of Man TT, the ‘TT-Zero 13’, has been further upgraded and made into the ‘TT-Zero 13: Kai’! This new version is now being transformed into figma size!

Various parts have been upgraded in order for the bike to take part in the Pikes Peak Hillclimb and the design and paintwork of the bike has been redone with the 2014 design of Racing Miku. Be sure to display the bike together with ‘figma Racing Miku 2014: EV MIRAI ver.’, which will be going on sale at the same time.
The bike retails for 5800 yen and will is scheduled for release alongside Miku in July.

Due to price, I will once again be passing on Miku’s bike to hope that it will hit the bargain bin.

That wraps up this week! Have you added this new Miku to your collection?

And do not forget about Wonderfestival this weekend! As usual, there will be a special FNF the day after covering all of the figmas and figma related things at the event! That also reminds me that the Never Outgrew Toys Facebook page recently reached and surpassed 200 likes!

So to tide us over until Wonfes, what are you hoping to see?

NOTE: Some figma teasers have since popped up, but I am going to leave those to the event since it’s happening soon anyway.

3 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays 2/6/15

  1. This Miku really stood out to me in particular because of the hair and eyes. I would have preferred it if she were slightly more clothed (she’s what, 16? and, more importantly, she’s riding a motorbike), but this is a cool design and I had to have her. I like seeing different and unique designs for Miku since there’s a lot of creative potential for her, what with her being essentially a blank slate to work with.

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for more Fire Emblem Awakening figmas this WonFes. Luci seems to be doing well in pre-orders in spite of the high price (got 3 for myself). Also hoping for Rin Tohsaka 2.0 and Gilgamesh, some Durarara figures, and a Zelda figma/Nendoroid to go with the Links.

    Like

  2. Ooh, I love this new Miku’s face; it reminds me a little of Misato Katsuragi, actually. It’s too bad that outfit makes me kind of uncomfortable…

    Like

Leave a comment

