Figma News Fridays: 9/26/14

Another week of figmas!
This time we have one unfortunate delay, but two preorders to hopefully make up for it, so let’s get started!

Monday

Saber 2.0 Delayed
saber 2.0 preview page
Let’s get the bad new out of the way first. Saber 2.0 has been delayed until November. That’s a two month delay!

Wednesday

Amatsukaze Preorders Begin
amatsukaze preview page

From the popular browser game ‘Kantai Collection -KanColle-‘ comes a figma of the 9th Kagerou-class Destroyer, Amatsukaze!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
She comes with three expressions including her standard face, a determined face and a slight blushing smile.
A partially articulated Rensouhou-kun as well as a hat with heart-shaped smoke coming out are both included.
An articulated figma stand is included.
Amatsukaze retails for 5370 yen and will be released in March 2015.

Yet another unique Kan Colle figma! It would appear that the destroyer class has very creative designs(Shimakaze is also a destroyer). One thing I enjoy about Kan Colle designs is the various naval motifs which are easy to overlook such as Shimakaze’s rudder heels. Amatsukaze has a lot in common with Shimakaze aesthetically, but I prefer her design for being just a little less brazen. Sure, she has no pants which is only accentuated by garters and thigh high socks, but…that cardigan is cute. Other fun details to notice are her Rensouhou kun who sits at her side in its own little boat and that very cute hat which resembles a steam stack and comes with a heart shaped puff of smoke. Also, rudder heels.

Amatsukaze is definitely my favorite Kan Colle figma so far for which I thought about getting her. However, in spite of some adorable tsundere sideways glances, her high price staved me off of owning her. 5370 is certainly not an unusual price when it comes to Kan Colle figmas, but it is a lot to pay on a whim.

Who am I kidding, I impulse bought a scale earlier this month. But that’s different…right?

Friday

Sinon Preorders Begin
sinon friday
From the anime series “”Sword Art Online II”” comes a figma of Sinon!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
She comes with three expressions: a standard face, a fired-up expression with clenched teeth and an embarrassed smile.
Her beloved ‘Hecate II’ sniper rifle is included along with bipod to place it on. A pistol and effect parts are also included.
An alternate head part for posing her in a sniping pose is also included.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Sinon retails for 5370 yen and will be released in February 2015.

February? Darn I though I was in the clear for a few months of 2015.

Huddle around for confession time everybody because I still have not watched Sword Art Online II. I’ve had every chance in the world to, but no, not yet. There are times when you do not feel like watching anime, and now is just one of those times. For that reason, I know nothing about Sinon as a character which leaves me wanting to get her only on the grounds that she is from SAO. However, even in my ignorant state, I can see that Sinon is a good looking figma! Sinon’s sculpt is accurate, her faces are full of emotion and variety, and the green on her outfit looks amazing. All of the necessary accessories appear to be included, but she is light otherwise and lacks anything especially specific to her character. I do not know what these things would be, but I imagine the situation is similar to Asuna’s not coming with a sandwich or picnic basket. I also wonder why SAO figmas never come with anything to remind us that the characters are from a game. Also working against Sinon is her alarmingly high price which sharply contrasts Kirito and Asuna who were both below 4000 yen when released last year. With few accessories and a high price, Sinon will likely be a tough pill for many to swallow, but an amazing sculpt and great faces make her one I’m sure will be swallowed willingly.

At this point, I would say that my ordering Sinon is inevitable, but I may wait until I can watch a few episodes and possibly see Kirito(although it will be a while since he isn’t even sculpted) before that.

That ends this week’s figma news! Are you one of Saber 2.0’s countless victims? And what do you think about Amatsukaze and Sinon? On the fence, or running past it?

20 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays: 9/26/14

  1. About the first few months of 2015…There is an absolutely adorable figma (Without the clunky new joints, yay!) being released sometime in May…She’s from Bakemonotagari (Did I spell that right?) and is a vampire girl. Her clothing isn’t too revealing, as it’s a simple white sundress and some cute low white heels. 3 different faces, a straw hat, and a giant katana-ish sword (Something like that, find her on the goodsmile english website)

    Also…I find Amatsukaze (Again, did I spell that right?) adorable. Her outfit actually isn’t that revealing..and it’s kinda cute! 🙂

    Like

  2. Agh, Saber 2.0 got delayed. Of course she did. Two months. Because I only have four more things out on November…

    As for the pre-orders, both were the final things I was waiting for from Wonfes, and both look great, so I ordered both. Amatsukaze is certainly pretty pricey, but Amiami’s 1600 yen discount made it up for me, so no regrets there.

    Sinon….goodness, all I’m going to say is that I hate SAOII with my entire being, and despise what they’ve reduced Sinon’s character to. First few episodes she’s a very cool, strong character. After a point she just turns into another useless girl for Kirito to be the big manly man to protect, though. And it’s terrible. In the end, however, I like her design and color scheme enough to justify the purchase, as much as it pains me to support SAO financially in any way. It’s the worst anime I’ve ever seen, and here I am buying pricey figures based on it. I have no shame, I guess.

    As long as I’m up for supporting terrible anime, though, I do hope they make ALO Asuna, since 1.I missed out on original flavor Asuna (And she’s way too expensive now to justify especially considering how many other figmas from stuff that is not awful there still are to buy. And I like the blue hair more anyway.) and 2. the second arc in SAOII is supposed to be have Asuna as the main character, so her ALO version is definitely appropriate.

    Like

    • I hear ya’. I have a scale, two figmas, and two mini figures for November now instead of just one figma. A lot of that is my fault, but still.

      Have you seen Amatsukaze’s nendo? Her eyes are really cute, but imo that damaged outfit is a little much.

      *weeps* You’re not the only one who feels that way about SAO T_T. A lot of times I get comments from people who like it, so I try to tone down my disdain for things, but yeah a lot of aspects are lacking for how popular the show is. It’s like Frozen gah! But I happen to love enough about both to want all of the merchandise I can get my hands on. >_>’
      Asuna was the only female the story allowed to be strong for a prolonged period because she was not with Kirito, but once they got online married, she lost a lot of oomph before becoming Titania. Then it was Leafa’s turn with Kirito…
      imo the story focuses too much on Kirito so that he can be awesome, but it makes him less real. Even when he fails, he just tries again with brute force.

      I’m surprised there weren’t ALO figmas. Spriggan Kirito would have been cute especially with tiny Yui. Titania Asuna’s scenes scarred me for life as do half of her figures, but yeah.
      I’m still waiting for my non trap Kirito scale too.

      Like

      • There is no question that SAO is pretty overrated, but if there’s one thing that is good about it, it’s the art and character design, so I guess wanting merchandise is understandable. I just wish Sinon’s shorts covered more than half her butt….

        Like

          • Well, this is SAO, so the fighting mostly falls on Kirirto, because he is The Hero Guy. But I guess the shorts do help him in some way. In one episode, he, no joke, spends a good thirty seconds staring at her butt. SAO is classy and respects its female characters, you know?

            Like

            • I’m not surprised after the ALO arc had those prolonged Sugu boob shots :/
              When you think about it, it’s kind of weird that women throw themselves at Kirito, but with the exception of Asuna, he doesn’t have much of a response. I guess he’s used to it? XD

              Like

  3. I’ve been enjoying SAO II so far. Many people have been complaining because Asuna hasn’t had much screen time, but the story itself isn’t bad at all. There’s only 12 episodes currently available, but there’s a new one out every Saturday. When you get a chance, go for it and I hope you’ll be one to enjoy it.

    Like

    • That means it’s been twelve weeks since I’ve attempted to keep up with anime O_O’.

      I’ll get to it one day. I’m even behind on things like Legend of Korra since my darn TV didn’t record the last season =_=’

      Like

      • DVR isn’t doing its job, huh? That’s a shame. I understand that frustration, I use to go through it all the time til I got rid of it >.> now I just rely on the internet for something I’ve missed

        Like

        • I don’t know what happened. It may have gotten removed from the list of shows to record. What upset me is that I didn’t even know there was another season until I randomly googled the show and saw that it was already airing =_=.

          After so many years of watching anime online, I try to watch things on TV whenever I can. XD

          Like

          • Well technology still isn’t perfect. Mine could only record a certain amount of hours, but its suppose to let you know when its full ask you what to delete if you try to record something else…. but mine (along with all the replacements) just deleted something random without warning and I was assuming my DVR had plenty of space to record…. so I just got rid of it out of frustration and caught up with my shows via internet or Netflix (if available).

            And depending on your TV type, you could always stream straight to your TV too, fool your brain into thinking its a channel rather than a site 😛

            Like

            • Are you suggesting that the 40 episodes of the Tonight Show and 60 of Jeopardy on my family’s DVR have something to do with it? XD

              I love streaming to the TV *_*. I guess I’ll have to do that for that part of Legend of Korra… I wasn’t too crazy about it after book 2, but everybody freaking out about book 3 on Facebook made me decide to give it another shot ^^’

              Like

              • I haven’t gotten into legend of Korra yet. Its on my to do list which is shortening a little slower than I’d like.

                And yes, I do believe your 40 and 60 episodes could have something to do with it 😛 you’re overloading the DVR (idk for sure, I’m just teasing,Lol)

                Like

                • I might as well have a list of to do lists XD

                  Honestly, I prefer the original series over LoK, but it has some nice throwbacks and deals with more gray zone issues than “Fire Nation bad we destroy Fire Nation.”(not that it was THAT simple, but you know).

                  Like

                  • Lmao, “Fire Nation Bad… We Destroy” was pretty much how it was in the long run, but the episodes didn’t drag or feel like fillers, so I was pleased with the original series

                    Like

  4. I was sad saber was delayed. I only have Ryuko coming in this month! And it seems like every single figma is regularly delayed a month these days. Anyways it’s ok if you haven’t started SAO 2, always more enjoyable if you can watch the whole season without a break.

    Like

    • Same for me, except I added tons of extra things on to my order. *weeps* This was supposed to be a light month, darn it!

      I actually have not had anything delayed in a while. Good luck I guess XD

      True, although the week of anticipation can be fun. 😛

      Like

Leave a comment

