Figma News Fridays: 9/12/14

Hello, and welcome to Figma News…Tuesdays. I was sick and then busy at the end of last week which pushed our beloved news back a few days. Last Thursday also happened to be my birthday! To be honest, I was terribly sick that whole day, but some much needed rest, home made chicken noodle soup(I love my mom *weeps*), and reading all of the wonderful birthday wishes from everybody made it not a bad day at all. Also, thanks to my dad, I now have a super cool pair of Hello Kitty floor mats for my car! This of course matches my Hello Kitty steering wheel cover. I’ve never been Hello Kitty’s number one fan, but when your car is red, it just kind of happens.

This week, we finally saw the rate of news returning to normal with lots of information about upcoming figmas. Still, there was only one preorder, but it was for a new line related to figma! So let’s get started!

Monday

Akagi Release Date Announced
akagi preview page
Akagi will be released on September 20th.

Ryuko Matoi Release Date Announced
ryuko matoi preview page
Ryuko will also be released September 20th.
I have Ryuko on preorder!

Captain America Release Date Announced
captain america preview page
El Capitan will also be released on the 20th.

Racing Miku 2014 Preorder Window Extended
RM 2014 2
Good news from Racing Miku Land! The preorder window for the 7000 yen package which includes only the figma has been extended to October 27th! Keep in mind that this is only for the 7000 yen package and all others will close on the scheduled September 18th.

Seems like somebody really wants me to own this Miku. But alas I must resist, for Celeste has needs.

Thursday

figFIX Shimakaze: Half-Damage ver. Preorders Begin
FigFIX Shimakaze preorder page

The very first in the fixFIX series of figma-sized statue figures comes Shimakaze from Kantai Collection -KanColle- in her half-damage version! Her ripped clothes an knee socks all preserved in detail and three damaged Rensouhou-chans are also included to display beside her!

Be sure to display her alongside her figma counterpart, or with other figma figures in the KanColle series!
Shimakaze retails for 3611 yen and will be released in April 2014.

What is figFIX?
figFIX – A New Collectible Figure Series based on the figma series

The figFIX series of figures is the same size as figmas (around 1/12th scale) so they can easily be displayed together, but they are fixed in a specific and well-known pose of each character, allowing for a more faithful representation as well as a reasonable price! The series allows the skilled craftsmen of Max Factory to put their skills to work on more delicate sculpting and paintwork for fans to enjoy! The head part of figFIX figures make use of the same joint as the figma series, allowing for some interesting display possibilities for fans to play around with as well!

figFIX info page

The beginning of a new line! fixFIX debuted at summer Wonderfestival, but I decided not to cover it as its association to figmas was unclear at the time. We now know that they are both based on the figma line and compatible with it.

figFIX’s creation addresses several issues. First is the always climbing prices of figures. At a time when 7000 yen is cheap, 10000 is close to becoming average, and even action figures average 4500 yen each, collector’s wallets are in dire need of relief(one does not simply quit figure collecting). figFIX promises quality figures at a delightfully affordable price. The condition is that these figures are 1/12 scale, but the idea of palm sized figures is an adorable one that could easily develop its own following. 1/12 scale is also not far from the Beach Queen line which has managed to keep Wave’s coffers stuffed for millennia in spite of its varying quality and now unwarranted high prices. I have always enjoyed the sculpting of figmas, so seeing that level of work transferred to more detailed static figures will be great. This line also comes as a blessing to those who find figma joints ugly as they can now enjoy the beauty of figmas…without what makes them figmas. However, these figures are not bad to have is you do own figmas because their faces are interchangeable with the regular line.

Funnily enough, it was not until I began writing about the figFIX line that I even thought of myself as a potential customer. To preserve what little funds I do have, I avoid trying out a new line without a lot of thought, but that was not what made me critical of figFIX. As an action figure lover, joints are a huge reason I collect figmas, so the concept of non action figures that are the same size as action figures was not appealing. However, I do love my Beach Queen Saber who is similar, and now that I think about it, a lot of characters who would have otherwise have been ignored as figmas(I’m looking at you, Bakemonogatari Shinobu) may receive figFIX figures. Overall, I think that as long as figFIX is not afraid to stretch beyond the bounds of what figma has already laid out, it can become something special and maybe even reel in people like me who do collect the action figure line. But if they merely recreate figma characters in fixed and detailed poses(which is still pretty great), I will most likely be passing.

So in case you were wondering whether figFIX is becoming a regular fixture of Figma News Fridays, the answer is yes. My policy is to cover figmas and anything related to them, so if figFIX is compatible with figmas, I do not have a choice. I look forward to seeing the line evolve!

That wraps up this week! Do you have any figmas on the way September 20th? And more importantly, what is your opinion of figFIX?

4 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays: 9/12/14

  1. It’s great to finally have Ryuko and Akagi’s release dates, I can only hope Saber’s is not too far away (i’ve been waiting so long for Ryuko….)

    The figFIX line has me all sorts of hyped, if only for Bake Shinobu! Nise Shinobu is great and I want her figma a lot (what is even taking gsc so long) but I was afraid I would never be able to get Bake Shinobu at the same scale. Even with just a poseable head, this is a fantastic opportunity. (and it’ll probably be very cheap too) so I’ll be ordering her as soon as that becomes possible. (Not very interested in any of the creepy damaged KanColle figFIXes, though, so number 001 is a pass.) Not sure if I’ll get Senjougahara, but considering how much I liked her figma, it’s a possibility. My figure collecting started with Monogatari (Hachikuji was my first figma, and still among the best) and I’m glad to see that they didn’t forget about Monogatari when it came time to make this new line. Hopefully this also means more figmas in the future (I want an Ononoki, dangit!)

    Like

  2. I still don’t really get the figFIX line… I love figmas because they’re posable, so I wouldn’t get a static figure just to swap heads out with it. Maybe it’s just me.

    Like

    • I know where you’re coming from. My BQ Saber is very similar to that though with the interchangeable faces, and I love her, so I guess I’m trying to keep an open mind. Still, it’s not like I need any new figure lines to collect.

      Like

  3. As a scale figure collector (and one of the I-hate-figma-joints group), I adore the idea of figFix. But my collection is made of only 1/7 or 1/8 scale figures and I’m critical as to how a 1/12 figure would fit in. I think I will be getting the upcoming Hitagi figFIX (for my Gahara-sama shirine) but will decide based on how it looks ^_^

    Like

Leave a comment

