Figma News Fridays 6/13/14

Welcome to Figma News Fridays, or as I like to call it, 70% of what I post. Seriously, looking at the blog’s home page sometimes makes me feel that way. But I can at least assure you that blog related things have been happening. Like sewing! Today, since I did not have “fabric store money”, I went to a thrift store and found some nice over sized clothing to rip apart and make into new things for my Dollfie Dream who by the way is on the way to the USA. Hey! That rhymes.
As for this week’s figmas, we have a preorder, release info, rereleases, and a brand new figma that was announced the day after last week’s FNF. *sigh*
So let’s get started!

Saturday

Akuma Homura Announced
10365799_10152520835894680_19784320092925864_n

10418288_10152520835884680_4866713282700459300_n
Origin: Gekijouban Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica: Hangyaku no Monogatari

Akuma Homura is from the third Madoka Magica movie, which some people may not have seen, so I’ll stay vague to avoid spoilers. Let’s just say that this little lady is the reason I sat with my mouth open at the end of the movie, and I mean that in a bad way. This little lady is the reason I desperately hope that there are no more Madoka continuations. And her existence is why I try to think of the third movie as an alternate scenario that had no bearing on the anime.

When it comes to fiction, I try to stay open minded and not let my feelings impede my enjoyment of the story. For instance, I have seen shippers become angry when X and Y don’t end up together even though that is obviously how the story was supposed to be. But I’ve made exceptions in my outrage, one of which was for the third Madoka movie. Sequels are tricky because they only exist due the original’s garnering massive attention. I don’t mind a sequel, but what I do mind is when said sequel distorts themes established by its predecessor. I sadly felt that this was the case with the third Madoka movie which in my opinion threw away what made sense for or was best for its characters in order to perpetuate popular ideas. It was as if soemone said, “Hey! Frodo and Sam are best friends and Sam has never wanted to hurt Frodo, and there’s no basis for his doing so ever, but wouldn’t it be cool if Sam joined Sauron and became a wraith and he and Frodo has an epic battle for good and evil over Mt. Doom?”.  And were this fictional scenario the case, wouldn’t you feel immensely sorry for Sam for becoming something he never was and probably never wanted to be?

Those are basically my feelings on Akuma Homura, and now that they’re off my chest, I can talk about the figure.
After every other magical girl got a figma, it was obvious that Akuma Homura would receive one too. And what can I say other than, she looks pretty darn cool. Even unpainted, the details sculpt is spot of for Akuma Homura. And while some figmas look bad unpainted, Homura already looks good and can only look better with paint. The wings are also fabulous, and her dress looks like it will allow better posing than Ultimate Madoka’s. We can already see her devilish smile and “soul gem” accessory.

Akuma Homura looks like a great figma, but there is some bad news, and that bad news goes by the name Aniplex. For those who have not been following the Haregi and Akuma Homura scales, instead of GSC, Aniplex has been the distributor for Rebellion movie figures. And all of these products have been exclusive. This does not make them impossible to get(Rightstuf is the US distributor for Aniplex and carries their products), but with regular stores and GSC’s shop out of the picture, getting Madoka figures hasn’t been very fun as of late. Of course with Max Factory as the manufacturer, there is a chance Homura will be easier to get, but I wouldn’t get my hopes up.

Monday

Hazuki Mizuhara Release Date Announced
hazuki mizuhara preview page
Origin: Toushin Toshi: Girls Gift RPG
Hazuki will be in stores on June 20th!

Levi Release Date Announced
levi preview page
Origin: Shingeki no Kyojin
Levi will be released on June 28th.
Good. I need all the time I can get.

Tuesday

Hibiki Ganaha Preorders Begin
hibiki ganaha preview page
Origin: The IDOLM@STER Anime

From the anime ‘The IDOLM@STER’ comes a figma of Hibiki Ganaha!
The second idol to join the figma series in her Million Dreams costume!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
She comes with three expressions including a cheerful smile, a friendly winking expression and a shouting expression!
Optional parts include a microphone, speaker, lighting equipment and a special di:stage base unit.
Hibiki’s close friend and partner ‘Hamuzou’ the hamster is also included.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Hibiki retails for 4167 yen and will be released in November.

So we’re at November already!
The Idolm@ster Cinderella Girls line has been wowing collectors for some time now, but character from the original series haven’t had enough of a chance to shine. Hibiki is the second original series figma, and boy is she cute! She has three wildly expressive faces which is what I like to see on a figma, and I just love that spiky blue hair. And do I even need to mention the hamster?

Cute as she is, Hibiki has not made her way to my list because I do not follow Idolm@ster.

Wednesday

Link Rerelease Preorders Begin
Link preview
Origin: ‘The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword’

From the popular game ‘The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword’ comes a rerelease of figma Link!

Using the smooth yet poseable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
He comes with his standard gallant expression, as well as a powerful shouting face for combat poses.
The Master Sword as well as the Hylian Shield are both included. They can also be carried on his back as they did in the game.
A poseable figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Link retails for 3619 yen and will be rereleased in November.

Did you miss Link the first time? The second too? Well, Link is coming back a third time just for you!

Samus Aran Rerelease Preorders Begin
samus preview page
Origin: ‘METROID Other M’

Using the smooth yet poseable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used which allows proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
Various extras including the popular ‘Morph Ball’, two beam effects, and a part to pose her shooting missiles are included.
Five alternate left hand parts are included, such as an open hand, a gripped hand and the classic ‘thumbs-up’ hand
A poseable figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Samus retails for 3619 yen and will be rereleased in November.

Did you miss Samus the first time? The second too? I think you know how this goes.

That concludes this week’s figma news! What made the collector within you gasp with excitement?

4 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays 6/13/14

  1. I have mixed feelings about Rebellion; half of me loves it, half of me despises it. I like to think of it as an ending for the movies only, not the anime. I’ll definitely get her figma, though, because I just love her design lol

    Like

  2. YAY SEWING YOU HAVE BERN LISTENING TO ME. I still haven’t seen the new movie, so I wouldn’t know how to hate on Homura. If I do watch the movie, I’ll be sure to write my opinion here, so we can discuss where it went wrong XD. Her figma looks nice, so I’ll probably just get her for completions sake. There’s just that annoying, evil word exclusive included. Hibiki sure turned out fantastic, so I’ll be waiting for her to get released,

    Like

    • It’s an emotional thing for me really. I mean, with Urobochi as the writer, I could see it happening, I just didn’t like it XD
      Looks like I’m skipping on Nagisa and Homura. Sigh~ So much for having every Madoka figma.

      Like

Leave a comment