Figma News Fridays: 5/30/14

Yet another week of figma news! This week was either the best or week ever because it had a disturbing amount of preorders. And on an entirely different note, I may or may not have memorized every song on the Frozen deluxe soundtrack, and I may or may not be listening to it right now which could affect this post. So let’s get started!

Monday

Goro Inogashira: Standard Helping ver. Preorders Begin
gorou preview page
Origin: Kodoku no Gourmet

From the manga ‘Kodoku no Gourmet’ comes a figma of Goro Inogashira!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
Three expressions including his standard face, a face to display him eating and a talking face are included.
He comes with special hand parts holding chopsticks and a rice bowl.
An alternate jacket with one side pushed aside to display him with one hand in his pocket is included.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
Goro retails for 4500 yen and will be released in October

Who knew we owned 8000 salad plates?

Most figmas come from the newest or most popular series, but every now and then we do get a lesser known character. Goro is a businessman in a manga about traveling throughout Japan and sampling various foods. I’ve mentioned before that the premise sounds admittedly unappealing, but I’m constantly reminded by him of one of my favorite shows, Mushi shi, which is a laid back anime itself and one which I hope receives a decent figure or two thanks to its second season.
As for the figure itself, the sculpt is a good representation of the manga’s style, he has a nice selection of faces, and apparently possesses the ability to beat the tar out of naked faceless guys.
Goro looks prfectly fine, but I’ll be passing on him.

Love is an open DOOOOOOORRRRRR

Goro Inogashira: Extra Helping ver. Preorders Begin

Ha! Did you think we were done with Goro? We’re never done with Goro!

gorou preview page

885a76438a7d04b4cd67b13aa8efcd5c

From the manga ‘Kodoku no Gourmet’ comes a special version of figma Goro Inogashira!

Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
Three expressions including his standard face, a face to display him eating and a talking face are included.
He comes with special hand parts holding chopsticks and a rice bowl.
An alternate jacket with one side pushed aside to display him with one hand in his pocket is included.
An articulated figma stand is included, which allows various poses to be taken.
The ‘Extra Helping’ version also includes various foods from the first chapter, as well as a table and pipe chair to sit at.
A jacket with both sides pushed aside is also included, allowing you to display him with both hands in his pockets.
This version of Goro retails for 5556 yen and will be released in October

Goro isn’t just a man, he’s a business man, and an important one because he receives not just one, but two figmas at the same time! The version of Goro listed first is the standard version available elsewhere, but this “Extra Helping” version is exclusive to GSC’s shop and comes with a stool, table, and whole serving of food that the standard is without!

I want to stuff some chocolate in my face!

This of course results in an increased price tag, so the whether or not this version is worth it is up to you. And if you are on the fence about this, you have until June 25th to decide.

For the first time in forever, nothing’s in my waaaaaayyy!

Tuesday

Haruka Nanase Preorders Begin
haruka nanase preview page
Origin: Free!

Haruka Nanase….has no official English description! But we all know how it goes, and I have already written about Haruka numerous times in the last few weeks.

I am one with the wind and sky!

The only important information we didn’t know already was that Haruka retails for 4500 yen(it’s sad that that’s now a decent price to me) and will be released in October.

In all, Haruka is an ok figma, but I would be a little disappointed were I a fan of his. Faces and sculpt are fine(well, if you like joints), but the swimming effect parts are awkward to say the least.

Agon1399072784
And don’t forget the grilled mackerel accessory which is exclusive to Hobbystock’s store and requires a proxy to order from.

He’s a bit of a fixer upper.

Thursday

Saber 2.0 Preorders Begin
saber 2.0 preview page
Origin: Fate/Stay Night Remake

From Fate/stay night comes an upgraded version of the ultimate servant, figma Saber!

The sculpting of the figma has been redone from the ground up. Saber is more gallant and beautiful than ever before!
The newly designed figma joints allow for all new poses – she can even be posed wielding her sword in both hands!
A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
She comes with a standard relaxed expression, a shouting expression for combat scenes and even an embarrassed expression.
Optional parts include the swords ‘Excalibur’ and ‘Caliburn’, as well as alternate swaying hair parts for more dynamic poses.
Saber 2.0 Retails for 4444 yen and will be released in September.

I_Kyubey1401331723
Orders made from GSC’s online shop include an invisible Excalibur effect part bonus!

First came Miku 2.0, and now we have Saber 2.0. Saber 2.0 is coming to us not just because the original Saber(figma #3) could use an update, but because of the remake announced for Fate/Stay Night. The first FSN anime was one of my earlier ones, but I can’t say I enjoyed the adaption entirely, so I’m looking forward to watching the remake and seeing the fresh flood of Fate/Stay Merch that follows.

Say goodbye to the pain from the past! We don’t have to feel it anymore!

This new Saber features a refreshed sculpt not just to her clothing, but to faces and accessories. But whereas the improvement with Miku 2.0 was strikingly obvious, I had difficulty seeing the need for a new Saber. So instead of hoping I and other would realize the need ourselves, Max Factory went ahead and published some pictures to convince us.

Go enjoy the sun and open up the gates.

hIE1401449641
And with one photo, Saber 2.0 becomes real and I am sold.
My eye first drifts to the difference in face sculpt which is massive. Saber 2.0’s face is strikingly like the new anime’s style and substantially more life like. But also notice the improved wrinkles in her clothing.
Oh, and she’s huge.

People smell better than reindeers. Sven don’t you think that’s right?

hIE1401449639
Posing is also vastly improved which is something much needed for a figma of a sword fighting character like Saber.

Strike for love and strike for fear. There’s beauty and there’s danger here.

hIE1401449637
More improvements to the posing. This time, focusing on the waist.

hIE1401449635
Grrr I’m Saber!
If the posing improvements do not impress you, that face should.

hIE1401449633
The first Saber had the dreaded pegged hands, so the new jointed hands will definitely be an improvement.
She also has toe joints which Eren and Mikasa have taught me the wonders of.

Usually I look up information on the figures for FNF as the week goes on, but this time I admittedly winged it as I did not pay much attention to them until writing this post. For that reason, Saber 2.0 was just a figure I would buy with little enthusiasm for the sake of owning all Saber figmas, but after studying the photos for the first time, I now know that Saber is a must have and will preorder her as soon as this post is finished!

We used to be best buddies, and now we’re not. I wish you would tell me why.

So with that, Figma News Fridays comes to a close! I’m off to preorder Saber, but what about you all? Which of these figures set your heart racing?

Let the storm rage on. The cold never bothered me anyway.

9 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays: 5/30/14

  1. Wow, I didn’t think there was going to be much of a difference between Saber 2.0 and the original…they’ve sure improved ^^;. I hope they make a 2.0 of Rider too!

    Like

  2. WHA-OA WE’RE HALFWAY THERE! Now you must show off your Saber Army! Saber 2.0 is great, but I have to say the whooshy sword shouldn’t be a preorder bonus. They should have offered the base at WonFes or something. The whooshy sword, can’t convince me to buy from Good Smile’s Shop. I’ll pick up Goro for a custom, but that price is too much for me now. I have no need for the Free guy, but they don’t look as bad as some people say. He’s an alright, but rather boring figma.
    WHOA-OH, LIVIN ON A PRAYER!

    Like

    • JINGLE BELLS JINGLE BELLS
      B-but I still need Extra and Alter. And a new shelf pretty soon 😄
      Oops looks like I forgot to add to the post that I’m not going for the PO bonus either. Not worth it imo, and I already have a swoosh from Saber Zero.
      The only bonus I would have preordered from GSC for is Shimakaze’s extra cannon face. Everything else they’ve made I can live without, and I honestly hope it stays that way.
      JINGLE ALL THE WAY!

      Like

      • YOU AIN’T NOTHIN’ BUT A HOUND DOG! Yay, new shelfs! You must show your Saber army to me, after you buy your new shelf, no ifs or maybes. Silly whooshy sword should have came with the box, because I really wanted that Wonfes base for Saber and Archer. Now, I’ll have to make one myself. Luckily there hasn’t been a Good Smile Bonus I’ve liked so I don’t have to buy from them directly. CRYIN ALL THE TIME!

        Like

Leave a comment

