Figma News Fridays 4/18/14

Welcome once again to Figma News Fridays. Only one thing matters this week, and that is that the day foretold by the prophesies has finally come upon us. A day that had you even proposed the thought of but six months ago, would have been met with endless scoffing. This day I speak of is a day that many have waited for even before I began collecting. Yes, I was but a young figma-less youth when this day was proposed, and now that I am armed with countless figmas, this day has come.

So let’s get started!

Monday

Mikasa Ackerman Release Date Announced
Mikasa preview page
Mikasa will be swinging into homes starting April 28th.
This is her second release, and I’ll finally be getting mine along with Eren.

Casca Release Date Announced
casca preview page
Casca will be released on April 26th.

Chihaya Kisaragi Release Date Announced
chihaya kisaragi preview page
Chihaya will also be in stores on April 26th.

Thursday

Archer Preorders Begin
archer preview page

From ‘Fate/stay night’ comes a figma of Archer, the Servant bound to Rin Tohsaka!
•Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
•A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
•He comes with both a standard expression and a shouting expression for combat poses.
•His dual blades Kanshou and Bakuya, his bow as well as Caladbolg II – the sword he uses as an arrow are all included as optional weapons.
•An articulated figma stand is included.
Archer retails for 4630 yen and will be released in August.

This is the day I was speaking of! For those who are unaware, figma Archer has endured much to reach actual production. He was first shown unpainted four years ago alongside Rider and Saber Extra, but was apparently shelved afterwards and was no seen again for years. What rescued Archer from figma purgatory was GSC’s fan polls which listed him near the top of requested male characters to be figmatized. Archer then reappeared at Wonderfestival and is now available for preorder–just in time for the Fate/Stay Night remake which is on the way.

Archer’s preorder has long been anticipated, but even after the hype, I am not dazzled by him. There’s nothing wrong with him– he has everything he needs to be Archer, but there’s no “selling accessory” that makes him a “winner”. Some characters naturally make more interesting figmas than others, but noteable “winners” in my opinion are Mato Kuroi who escaped being a boring school girl by having one awesome face, the Cinderella Girls who all have unique accessories and exciting faces, and Koyomi Arararararagi who also has great faces. It may be nitpicking to ask for even more when we already have the long awaited Archer figma, but I suppose that with so many figmas already in my collection and Max Factory’s established reputation for creating quality figures, I’ve begun to hope for a little more.
Also note that there is no word on the Unlimited Blade Works base he was shown with at Wonderfestival. It appears that was merely for display at the event.
For me, Archer is not an instant preorder, but I have the feeling I’ll order him eventually like with Miku 2.0.

That’s all for this week! My next post will most likely be a spring photo shoot/mini story with Tamaki and Kagura. Also, remember that you can alternatively keep up with the blog by liking the Facebook page or following on Twitter .

So what did you think of this week? Are you happy to see that three figma ladies have not been delayed, or are you too busy thinking about Archer?

15 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays 4/18/14

    • Better get that overtime 😛 I’ve been doing it for these preorders, especially because of Gigan from monsterArts and Playarts Kai’s Alien Spitter… just those two alone are a little over $200 :/

      Like

        • Yeah… extremely pricey, BUT!… cheaper than what they’d be when they hit american shelves and/or Ebay. I remember when I got King Ghidora for about $120 on AmiAmi, as soon as they made their way to ebay and some shops around my area, he was about $250. Same with Figma’s Link and Samus. They were both about $175 each… the one I regret not getting is Kirito 😦 that guy is still $200+… even without his box. Someday, I hope to get him though

          Like

          • Very true! Even when figmas did cost $25, American distributors had them for $45.

            I ‘ve seen Kirito on the after market, and can’t believe how much his price has risen. Preorders weren’t even crazy or anything.
            If it helps, I’ve seen him for $120 on Mandarake, and people on MFC were selling him for $70 a while back. Not sure if anyone has him that low anymore.

            Like

  1. When is Eren due? I haven’t even seen preorders for him yet D:

    And I had to order Archer… I need more badass male characters in my collection

    Like

    • His first release comes out today(19th) actually!
      The second is supposed to be next month.

      Good point. Fate is so far the only franchise to provide many men I actually want to buy. Berserk men are manlier, but it’s too much muscle for my kawaii moe moe kyun collection.

      Like

      • Lmao, I couldn’t help but to laugh 😛 I have Guts already, but he isn’t the movie version :/ which sucks because I was late on his preorder and now I can’t find him anywhere at a fair price… I do have Casca on order though. So I’m hyped for her.

        Like

  2. OMG Figma News Friday is actually on Friday, I LOVE U USAGI. I really wanted that sweet base for Archer, even a GSC Shop exclusive would have been nice, I guess I’ll have to make my own. I’m kinda hoping that Miho gets delayed, because I already have Cobra, Mikasa, Casca, and Chihaya coming this month.

    Like

    • Don’t rub it in XD Since no random news popped up after I posted, I’ll probably start writing them in the afternoon before work instead of at night after.

      I’d almost forgotten about it, but it is odd that we didn’t at least get one as an exclusive as you said.
      I just have Eren, Mikasa, and a keychain this month XD

      Like

Leave a comment

