Figma News Fridays 3/28/14

It’s the Friday of Figma News! This week had release date announcements, two lovely announcements, and some sad news based on a misunderstanding. There’s one figure that I’m quite excited about though, so let’s get started!

Monday

Cobra(Re-release) Released
cobra preivew pic
Series: Space Adventure Cobra

Crystal Bowie Released
crystal boy
Series: Space Adventure Cobra

Saori Takebe Preorders Begin
saori takebe preview page
Series: Girls und Panzer

From the anime series ‘Girls und Panzer’ comes a figma of the Ankou Team’s driver, Saori Takebe!
•Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
•A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
•She comes with a gentle standard expression, a slightly upset embarrassed expression and a smiling expression.
•Optional parts include her headset with special hair parts to display her wearing it, as well as her cellphone.
•A driver’s seat and communication equipment are also included.
•An articulated figma stand is included.
Saori retails for 4444 yen and is scheduled for July.

Like the other Girls und Panzer girls, Saori is cute and comes with tank pieces, so I guess there isn’t much more fans can ask for! She also has a diverse selection of faces which is always good for a figma. I will be passing on her like the others, but I’m sure fans will enjoy her~

Panzerkampfwagen IV Ausf D Kai (Ausf F2) Announced

Thank goodness for copy and paste.
tank monday
Remember that uber cool tank that the Girls und Panzer characters were displayed in at Wonderfestival? Well, it’s officially a thing that you will be able to buy. The tank will be a 1/12 model kit produced by Max Factory.
That is all the information we have now which leaves price, date, and level of assembly required still up in the air, but TANK.

Thursday

Ryuko Matoi Preorders Begin
ryuko matoi preview page
Series: Kill la Kill

“Life Fiber Synchronize! Kamui Senketsu!”

From the anime series ‘Kill la Kill’ comes a figma of the main character looking to avenge her father, Ryuko Matoi!
•Using the smooth yet posable joints of figma, you can act out a variety of different scenes.
•A flexible plastic is used for important areas, allowing proportions to be kept without compromising posability.
•She comes a smiling expression, a shouting expression and an expression with clenched teeth for combat scenes.
•Her Scissor Blade is included in both standard form and Decapitation Mode.
•An articulated figma stand is included.

mako thursday
Preorders from GSC’s online shop will include a bonus Mako Makanshoku cut out!

Kill la Kill’s finale was this Thursday, so what better time to open preorders for Ryuko? Tearing myself away from the visual glory of Pokémon X long enough to watch it was difficult at first, but the finale was everything I’d hoped for and imagined for an anime like Kill la Kill. And I’ve never seen an anime play so many songs in a single episode.
I intended to snag nendoroid Ryuko, but found myself slightly underwhelmed which resulted in my skipping her, and I do have to say that I have similar feelings for the figma. Have I become spoiled? I mean, the figma looks just like Ryuko and has every accessory needed to be Ryuko, but my socks have not escaped the gravitational pull of my feet. Of course, this did not stop me from insta-preordering Ryuko, but I wish I could’ve been happier to do so.
Ryuko was a get for me, and I hope to see many more Kill la Kill figmas and nendoroids in the future!

There is also the GSC shop bonus which although cute, is not enough to get me to pay the extra costs of ordering from GSC.

Sadly, this leads us into the bad news I mentioned earlier.

Figma Mako Makanshoku was a Cruel Misunderstanding
mako makanshoku friday
Do you remember last week when I used this image to announce Mako Makanshoku’s figma? Unfortunately that was a misunderstanding. The above image is from GSC’s broadcast and was mistaken as an announcement for a new figma, but was actually a teaser for Ryuko’s bonus accessory
mako thursday
The horrible truth is revealed! Sadly this means that there is no Mako figma on the way that we know of. I would not totally count out the possibility considering Kill la Kill’s popularity(backlash may also inspire MF to make a figma), but for now we are sans Mako, sans teeth, sans eyes, sans taste, sans everything.

Friday

Futayo Honda Released
futayo honda preview page

That’s all for this week! Did you preorder Saori? How about Ryuko, and did you decide to preorder with GSC for the special bonus?

5 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays 3/28/14

  1. It’s definitely a lame bonus, but I’m happy to order straight from GSC if there’s even the smallest incentive. It’s a more direct way of voicing my opinion on what they offer; I just figure it an extra 10 bucks to them in favor of more Kill la Kill stuff.

    Like

  2. Come on you know you know you want the tank and you’re gona need its pilots too XD. That Mako cut out is a pretty lame preorder bonus, I mean surely someone can just print out a picture of Mako from online(probably in a better pose as well).

    Like

    • Haha Maybe the tank, but I’ll have to improvise on the pilots. Maybe a magical girl tank instead? XD

      I agree about the bonus but am kind of glad that it wasn’t something amazing because then I’d have to buy from GSC and couldn’t combine with my usual stuff ^^’

      Like

Leave a comment

