Figma News Fridays 9/6/13

Figma News Fridays is on time this time. Time!
This week was rather slow in terms of volume, but the same cannot be said for hype since we saw the debut of a very popular and anticipated character. So let’s get started!

Wednesday

Mikasa Ackerman Preorders Begin
Mikasa preview page

Mikasa special base

From this season’s hit anime, comes a figma of the girl who learned at a young age that the world is cruel, yet heartwarmingly beautiful. Mikasa comes equipped with three faces perfect for the dangerous job of fighting titans. Yet even more impressive is her stunning Vertical Maneuvering Equipment which has been expertly shrunk down to figma size along with effect parts for that gas that propels her through the air. She even comes with the green cloak worn by the heroes who fight outside the walls. Mikasa will be ready to fight in January 2014 and retails for 4800 yen.
Preorders from the Goodsmile Online shop include a special rooftop Di; stage.

Those who read my summer Wonderfestival post may remember that the majority of figmas announced were from popular animes I was regrettably not familiar with. Shinkgeki no Kyojin/Attack on Titan was one of those, and after hearing about it so much, I finally decided to give it a try. My opinion? This show is good. And I mean I watched 18 episodes in two days good. It’s probably not so enjoyable for those who don’t like despair, bloodshed, and epic swinging around abandoned towns…but for me, who’s up for anything so long as it’s not hentai, this is definitely a hit.
Of course the bad thing is that becoming a fan opens me up to a whole slew of merchandise that I was previously safe from; most notably figmas. Mikasa is my favorite character, so I definitely want her, but there’s just something that stopped me from making this an instant preorder. It may very well be her nose which bothered me even before I knew the character, but it’s also that being an action character, figma Mikasa is far different from the cutesy smiling things I usually buy. But clearly I’m in the minority of fence-dwellers since Mikasa has already sold out on amiami. I’m still making up my mind on preordering, but anyone who definitely wants to preorder her should keep their eyes open, she’s a hot item!

That’s all for this week! What do you think about Mikasa?

And don’t forget that you can always like the Never Outgrew Toys Facebook page for notifications on posts and occasional comments from me.

4 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays 9/6/13

  1. I don’t even want to deal with the preorder stuff with this. If it comes back up for order, I’ll grab it but I’m not going to hunt.

    Hope Levi isn’t exclusive.

    Like

  2. I caved in and ordered her from the GSC store. Wasn’t happy with them about the Snow Miku debacle but after I had her in hand all was forgotten.

    Had to order her, love me some Mikasa!

    Like

    • I’m still holding out for amiami since full price + EMS shipping isn’t ideal for me.
      Hmmm something came up on MFC about it being a licensing issue. If that’s the case, I hope she comes back once it’s resolved.

      Like

Leave a comment

