A Name for Caster

I’m finally back with another Pureneemo photo story! This is only the second episode, but if you haven’t read from the first episode yet, you can read it on the “Pureneemo Corner” page.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

A few weeks into our time together, and Caster is still as enthralled with her “Master” as ever. Because of this, I tend to not encounter the two of them often, but that began to change one day when I walked into my room.

Attached to my laptop, I found a small handwritten note:
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Although her habit of referring to me as “Large One” remains, it’s great to see that Caster no longer considers me a threat, and finds my opinion to be of some value.

Undeniably curious about what this “serious conversation” could entail, I eagerly headed for our specified meeting place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
In the living room, I found Caster sitting expectantly with a setup worthy of the serious conversation she had supposedly summoned me for.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Rather than questioning where on earth this furniture came from, I took a seat next to “Master”(who was most likely there in hopes of food).

With her audience now assembled, Caster began to speak.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: My dear Master and Large One, please forgive me for taking your precious time, but I earnestly desire your opinions.

I was quite surprised by this formal statement. Although obviously skilled in her craft, Caster’s previous impetuous behavior had lead me to believe she was immature

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: For weeks now, I have been referred to as “Caster”, but I wish to change that!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Me: What? You mean you’re not happy with your name?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: Precisely! I trust the Large One is familiar with my true identity?
Me: You mean Tamamo-no…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: Please don’t!

Before I could finish uttering Caster’s real name: Tamamo-no-mae, she stopped me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: That name belongs to my old life, but for my new life with my beloved master and large one, I need a new name! Also…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: I’m sure Large One knows the details of my previous life. I was a fearsome and beloved sorceress, but unfortunate circumstances influenced my reputation for the worse, and now many view my past incarnation as a monster. If anyone knew that such a feared figure was serving Master, his integrity may be permanently damaged!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster:…And bringing shame to her master would be the worst thing any servant could do…

Although I severely doubt her master has anything to lose is regard to his reputation, I do feel sorry seeing Caster so upset

I meant to comfort her, but before I could, Caster sprang up. I do admire her resilience

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: That’s why I’ve made a list of new names!
Me: Oh, then read them to us!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: Hmmm we have: Kotama chan, Tamamo, and Tama chan!
Me: Um, I’m afraid those are already taken…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Caster: Then my new name will be Tamaki!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Me: Tamaki? Why did you pick that name?
Tamaki: So I could achieve elegance like that of Tamaki Suoh!
Me: …You know that’s a guy, right?

And that’s how Caster got her new name.

One thought on “A Name for Caster

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Tamaki | Never Outgrew Toys

Leave a comment

