Figma News Fridays 10/19/12

Hello everyone! Today I’d like to introduce a new series of posts called Figma News Fridays(or FNF for short)! Figma News Fridays will be a weekly feature where I keep you up to date on all the week’s exciting figma news! I’ll cover things like preorders, new announcements, delays, re-releases, and everything else figma-related that you need to know about! This week started out slow, but had some suprises at the end, so let’s get started!

Monday

Reimu Hakurei is Re-released

The week began with the re-release of Reimu Hakurei from Touhou Project. Reimu was one of the figmas chosen to be re-released in Goodsmile Company’s poll, and was exclusive to GSC’s online shop. Thanks to GSC’s mandatory EMS policy for international orders, those who ordered her should receive her very soon.

Tuesday

Preorders Begin for Ultimate Madoka

The figma fun continued on Tuesday with preorders opening for figma Ultimate Madoka from Madoka Magica. I’d say she’s definitely worthy of the name Ultimate! Her impressive sculpt is only enhanced by a fantastic pearly paint job, so she’s sure to command attention on anyone’s shelf. Accessories are a little lacking, but regardless, she was an instant preorder for me. Utimate Madoka retails for an upper end price of 4571 yen, and is set to be relased in February 2013.

Friday

I was starting to worry that there wouldn’t be any more news, but suddenly Friday came to save the day! First, Max Factory’s figma blog was updated with sample photos and a release date for Yukiko Amagi from Persona 4.

Yukiko was initially scheduled for an August release, but was delayed until October for various reasons. At last, she’ll be making her way to Persona 4 fans on October 23rd. I ended up passing on her, but those swirly glasses are pretty awesome.

Friday also happens to be the day of Dengeki’s 20th anniversary event, and included a crazy number of figure anouncements! First we saw the colored prototype of figma Mami Tomoe Uniform version.

I’d actually lost hope for seeing uniform versions of all the Puella Magi, but Max Factory has reigninted my hope by announcing Mami. So far, we know that she’ll come with a school bag, but it would be nice to see accessories like a tea cup and Tiro Finale that were not included with her magical girl version.

Of course, Mami can’t be lonely, so we have Sayaka to go with her!

Seeing Sayaka makes me very happy because we’ll probably get the tragic faces that her magical girl version lacked. Her default face already looks awesome! I also wouldn’t be suprised if this version includes a separate hairpiece with her hairclip from the movie.

Of course, the event wasn’t all magical girls, the sculpt for Yuno from Hidamari Sketch X Honeycomb was revealed as well.

I’m not familiar with Hidamari Sketch, so this is a pass for me , but she’s still cute.

Next, Labys from Persona 4 made an appearance…in color!

Another pass for me, but woah that weapon is huge! And for whatever reason, her colors remind me of a 50’s diner…

Yet another colored protoype to appear is Black Gold Saw from Black Rock Shooter the anime.

Wow, she looks great! The increased amount of red does a good job in differentiating her from OVA Black Gold Saw, and I love that scowl on her face. It looks like this figma will have alot of personality!

Next is undoubtedly my favorite reveal:

Figma Kirito has been sculpted! This was a pleasant suprise since I wasn’t expecting to see him until winter Wonderfest, but Max Factory made my day by having him sculpted already and before Asuna. A male figma being revealed before a female figma?! How shocking! Obviously this is an instant get for me(especially if he comes with a sandwhich), and i’m sure Asuna’s reveal is right around the corner.

Our final piece of figma news is an annoucement for Futayo Honda from Horizon in the Middle of Nowhere.

Wow! This series sure has been getting alot of figures lately! I like her shoes XD

Well, that’s all for this week! I’m doing my best to improve these posts, so please don’t hesitate to tell me what you think. And look forward to next week’s edition of figma News Fridays! ^^

By the way, none of these photos are mine. They’re all from MFC or the figma blog.

2 thoughts on “Figma News Fridays 10/19/12

Leave a comment

